Board of Directors

The Yukon Wildlife Preserve Operating Society is run by a volunteer Board of Directors elected each year at an Annual General Meeting.

2016-2017 Board of Directors


Alexandra de Jong Westman, President
Animal Care Committee, Planning & Development Committee
Principle, ElknWillow Environmental Consulting

Alexandra has a lifetime of experience with animals, from growing up on the seashores of BC to migrating up to mountain tops of the Yukon. Though schooling was directing her into veterinary sciences, she ultimately ended up studying wildlife toxicology and the impacts of various land uses on wildlife health. Since moving to the Yukon just four years ago, Alexandra has had the opportunity to become involved in land use and wildlife projects with many of the Yukon First Nations, industries and non-government and government groups. Alexandra currently is operating her own environmental consulting company, was recently awarded a sessional teaching position in the Resource Management department at the Yukon College and has assisted in the development of the wetland proposal for the YWP

Kristine Hildebrand, Treasurer
Fundraising Committee
Comptroller, Northern Vision Development

Shawna Warshawski, Director at Large - 1st Vice President

Fundraising Committee

Mike Kokiw, 2nd Vice President, Chair of Policy and Bylaw Committee and Chair of Fundraising Committee

Mine Licensing Officer, EMR

Jessie Dawson, Director at Large
Junior Elder, Kwanlin Dünn First Nation 

Darrel March, Non-voting member


Ed Van Randen, Non-voting member